5 (More) Tips For Regularly Making $1000+ On Upwork

And turning your side hustle into a legit job

Adriana Sim
6 min readJul 21, 2021
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Two short months ago, I wrote about how I made $800+ on my first month on Upwork. I didn’t stop there. May was a record month of $1,435, and June didn’t disappoint either.

I’m still a budding freelancer, transitioning from my day job to doing this full-time, so I don’t have it all figured out. But, if I managed to earn this much by only putting in 10 hours of work per week, I’m sure you can do it too.

This article will help you if you’re looking to plunge into the world of freelance writing, or better yet, if you’re already an Upwork newbie looking to up your game.

My experience on Upwork has been fun and diverse, although occasionally frustrating (I’ll talk more about that in a second). It’s safe to say that I’ve learned A LOT while experimenting with:

  • ghostwriting
  • writing website copy
  • writing in-app content
  • editing blogs
  • rating other authors (that was a weird job)
  • helping a coach write her newsletter
  • acting as a second pair of eyes to a seasoned author

--

--

Adriana Sim

In the process of GYST’ing and following my intuition. Gave up a career in medicine to pursue writing, blogging, and, most of all, living.