The Not-So-Glamorous Side of Tiny House Living

Downsizing comes with downsides.

Adriana Sim
5 min readJun 19, 2020
Photo by Author

A year ago, my husband and I set out on a less conventional journey to transform what used to be an old animal stable into a rustic welcoming tiny house. It wasn’t intended to serve as our permanent residence but more like a temporary shelter while we focused on building our forever home.

Even though it didn’t fit our life goals at the time, it was a dream come true for me. I’ve always been fascinated with the tiny house movement and binged on all videos related to tiny living.

We live in a mountain town in Transylvania, Romania. Our tiny house sits inside a larger historic wooden barn, it’s made of recycled bricks and measures just about 300 sq ft. And while its location and warm cozy interior fill us with joy and gratitude, there is a dark side to it.

Photo by Author

Here are some aspects of living the tiny life that people rarely talk about:

It gets dirty super fast.

I’ve never been much of a tidy person, but with two people, a dog, and a tiny entryway, dirt accumulates faster than I can keep up. And not just dirt…

--

--

Adriana Sim

In the process of GYST’ing and following my intuition. Gave up a career in medicine to pursue writing, blogging, and, most of all, living.